Dataset · Dictation software
Dictation Software Prices: What Each App Costs
What do dictation and voice typing apps cost, by subscription and to buy outright?
Paid dictation apps typically cost a median of 12 US dollars a month when billed yearly and 16.99 US dollars when billed monthly. Buying outright has a median of 39 US dollars, and most apps also have a free plan.
37 data points from 13 sourcesUpdated October 19, 2026Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0
12US dollars
In the dictation and voice typing app prices dataset, the 12 published figures for “Per month, billed yearly” have a median of 12 US dollars, ranging from 7.08 to 28.
How it is calculated
16.99US dollars
In the dictation and voice typing app prices dataset, the 11 published figures for “Per month, billed monthly” have a median of 16.99 US dollars, ranging from 8.49 to 35.
How it is calculated
39US dollars
In the dictation and voice typing app prices dataset, the 5 published figures for “One-time purchase” have a median of 39 US dollars, ranging from 25 to 249.99.
How it is calculated
Dictation apps are cheap to try and moderately priced to keep. The median subscription is 12 US dollars a month when you commit for a year 1, and 16.99 US dollars when you pay month to month 2. Paying once costs a median of 39 US dollars 3. Free plans cost 0 US dollars 4, usually with a cap on use or a weaker model.
The table below holds 37 published prices 5 from 13 distinct sources 6. All were read from the makers' own price pages in October 2026. For the wider picture of how dictation software works, see our overview of dictation software.
Paying for a year up front lowers the monthly price
Almost every app that sells both options charges less per month on the annual plan. The figures for the same plan under both billing choices:
| App and plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly |
|---|---|---|
| Wispr Flow Pro | 15 US dollars 7 | 12 US dollars 8 |
| Willow Voice Pro | 15 US dollars 9 | 12 US dollars 10 |
| Monologue Pro | 15 US dollars 11 | 12 US dollars 12 |
| Aqua Voice Pro | 10 US dollars 13 | 8 US dollars 14 |
| Superwhisper Pro | 8.49 US dollars 15 | 84.99 US dollars 16 |
| Otter.ai Pro | 16.99 US dollars 17 | 8.33 US dollars 18 |
The discount is not uniform. Wispr Flow and Willow Voice both label their annual price as a discount, and the pattern holds on their business plans too: Willow Voice Business falls from 35 US dollars 19 to 28 US dollars 20. Superwhisper's gap is small. Otter's gap is the widest in the table, with the yearly price at about half the monthly one, which makes its monthly price a poor deal if you plan to stay.
A yearly price is a commitment, not a lower rate you can leave at any time. The per-month figure is a monthly equivalent of one yearly charge. Monologue's page, for example, gives a yearly charge and then divides it for you. If you are not sure you will keep dictating, a monthly plan costs more per month but ends when you stop.
Prices cluster by who the plan is for
Individual plans sit in a narrow band. Most monthly Pro-style plans sit well below the Business plans, and the yearly equivalents sit lower still. Business plans cost more, and they are where the top of each range comes from. Aqua Voice sells a Max plan at 30 US dollars monthly 21, and Otter's Business plan is 30 US dollars monthly 22. Willow Voice's Business plan is the most expensive monthly row at 35 US dollars 19.
Per-seat team pricing adds a further wrinkle. Aqua Voice charges 24 US dollars per seat monthly 23 or 19 US dollars per seat on the annual plan 24, with a minimum seat count, so the real bill depends on team size. A solo writer and a team are looking at different tables.
The cheapest subscriptions are the ones aimed at one person who mostly wants plain dictation. Spokenly Pro is 8.33 US dollars a month on the annual plan 25, and Aqua Voice Pro is 8 US dollars 14.
Buying outright is cheaper than it looks, except at the top
The one-time group has the widest spread relative to its median: that median is 39 US dollars 3, but the range runs from a low-priced license to a premium one. Every one-time row is a lifetime license, so you pay once and there is no renewal.
The low end is mostly Mac software that runs on your own machine. VoiceInk's Solo license is 25 US dollars for one Mac 26, the Personal license is 39 US dollars 27, and the Extended license is 49 US dollars 28. Spokenly's Local+ plan is 29 US dollars once 29. At the top, Superwhisper's lifetime license is 249.99 US dollars 30, well above everything else in the group. It covers more platforms, including Windows and phones, which the Mac-only licenses do not.
The one-time rows in full:
| App | Plan | Platforms | Where speech is processed | Price ($) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VoiceInk | Solo, one Mac | Mac | On device | 25 | VoiceInk (vendor website), 2026 26 |
| Spokenly | Local+ | macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS | Both | 29 | Spokenly (vendor website), 2026 29 |
| VoiceInk | Personal, two Macs | Mac | On device | 39 | VoiceInk (vendor website), 2026 27 |
| VoiceInk | Extended, three Macs | Mac | On device | 49 | VoiceInk (vendor website), 2026 28 |
| Superwhisper | Pro, lifetime | 249.99 | Superwhisper, 2026 30 |
The sensible way to compare a license with a subscription is to take the yearly subscription figure, multiply by the years you expect to keep using the app, and compare. That is your own sum, not a figure in the data, because nobody can promise how long a product or its price will last.
Free plans exist, but each one has a limit
Free plans are nearly as common in the table as paid ones, and their median is 0 US dollars 4. A zero price does not mean the same thing in each row. Some free plans are capped by usage: Wispr Flow's Free plan carries a weekly word cap 31, and Willow Voice's Basic plan limits a weekly feature and uses a weaker model 32. Monologue's free offer is a trial with limits on words and notes 33.
Others are free because the model runs on your device. Superwhisper's free tier uses local Whisper models, and its paid plan adds cloud models and AI modes 34. Spokenly's free plan also uses local models or your own API keys 35. Speechnotes is free with ads in the browser 36.
Built-in dictation from Apple, Microsoft and Google is free as well, and it is in the scope of this dataset. If your needs are plain text in a document or message, start there before paying for anything.
Where the price pages disagree or hide detail
Several rows carry caveats that change how you should read them.
- Promotions are not list prices. Otter's page shows a promotional price for Business, and the list price is the one used here 22. Its Pro rows exclude a promotion that applies only to cards issued in one country 17.
- Struck-through prices. Willow Voice prints the regular monthly price struck through beside the annual option, so the monthly and yearly rows come from the same card.
- Sources disagree. For VoiceInk, a comparison site lists different figures than the vendor, so the vendor's price is used 26. A site-wide discount button on its page did not change the prices printed on the cards.
- App store prices. Letterly's Pro subscription is 19.99 US dollars for one month 37, taken from the app store listing because that is where the price is shown. The listing also shows other plans that do not say which is current, so only the one-month price is recorded.
- A license converted to a monthly figure. Braina Pro is priced at a yearly license for one Windows PC, which the table shows as 99 US dollars a month 38. It is not a subscription you can cancel monthly.
- Currency. MacWhisper's free plan is priced in euros on its page. Zero is zero in any currency, so the row records zero dollars 39.
Some price pages also list Superwhisper's plans in more than one place, so a few of its prices appear twice in the table with the same figure. Those repeated rows make Superwhisper count a little more heavily in the medians than other apps.
What the data cannot tell you
Quality. A price tells you nothing about accuracy, speed or how well an app formats and cleans up text. A cheaper plan may use a weaker model, and the table does not rank accuracy.
Privacy and processing. Most rows leave the place where speech is processed as not stated, because the price page does not say. Only some apps are clearly on device, such as VoiceInk 26. If privacy matters, a price page will usually not answer it, and you will need the vendor's privacy documentation.
Features are not equal. A plan called Pro at one vendor is not the same product as a plan called Pro at another. Otter, for instance, is known mostly for meeting notes rather than dictation, so its rows are a loose comparison with apps built for voice typing.
Time. These are prices on one day in October 2026. Vendors change them, add promotions, and sometimes change what a lifetime license covers. A one-time price covers the current version, and the data does not say what future upgrades will cost.
Taxes and teams. Prices are in US dollars and generally do not say whether tax is included. Team and per-seat plans depend on how many people you have.
What this means if you are choosing
- Start free. Try your device's built-in dictation first, then the free tier of any app you like. Free plans are common enough that paying before testing is rarely necessary.
- Decide how long you will use it. If you dictate every day, a yearly plan or a one-time license is cheaper than monthly billing. If it is a trial run, pay monthly.
- Match the platform. Several of the cheapest licenses are Mac only, and a few apps are Windows only. Check the platforms column before the price.
- Check processing if privacy matters. On-device apps keep audio on your machine. Where the table says not stated, assume nothing.
- Read the page on the day you buy. Prices, caps and promotions move. For a fuller walk through the decision, see our overview of dictation software and the guide to choosing a dictation app.
Evidence
Every number on this page, with where it comes from. Open a fact to see the exact words in its source.
- 1.
- 2.
- 3.
- 4.
- 5.The dictation and voice typing app prices dataset holds 37 data points, each a published figure traced to its source.
Calculated from 37 other facts
- 6.The dictation and voice typing app prices dataset draws on 13 distinct sources.
Calculated from 37 other facts
- 7.
- 8.
- 9.
- 10.
- 11.
- 12.
- 13.
- 14.
- 15.
- 16.
- 17.
- 18.
- 19.
- 20.
- 21.
- 22.
- 23.
- 24.
- 25.
- 26.
- 27.
- 28.
- 29.
- 30.
- 31.
- 32.
- 33.
- 34.
- 35.
- 36.
- 37.
- 38.
- 39.
Every data point
Each row is one published figure for one group, in US dollars. The row opens its fact page with the exact words of the source; the source opens the original.
| Source | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Superwhisper Pro, monthly | Superwhisper | Pro, monthly | Per month, billed monthly | 2026-10 | 8.49 | Superwhisper, 2026 | ||
| Aqua Voice Pro, billed monthly | Aqua Voice | Pro | Per month, billed monthly | Not stated | 2026-10 | 10 | Voice, 2026 | |
| Monologue Pro, monthly | Monologue | Pro, monthly | Per month, billed monthly | Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch | 2026-10 | 15 | Monologue (monologue.to), 2026 | |
| Willow Pro, billed monthly | Willow Voice | Pro | Per month, billed monthly | Mac, iOS | Not stated | 2026-10 | 15 | Willow Voice (vendor website), 2026 |
| Wispr Flow Pro, billed monthly | Wispr Flow | Pro | Per month, billed monthly | 2026-10 | 15 | Flow, 2026 | ||
| Otter.ai Pro, billed monthly | Otter.ai | Pro | Per month, billed monthly | Mac, Windows, iOS, Android | Not stated | 2026-10 | 16.99 | Otter.ai, 2026 |
| Letterly Pro, monthly | Letterly | Pro, monthly | Per month, billed monthly | 2026-10 | 19.99 | Apple App Store, published by Letterly, 2026 | ||
| Aqua Voice Business seat, monthly | Aqua Voice | Business, per seat | Per month, billed monthly | Not stated | 2026-10 | 24 | Voice, 2026 | |
| Aqua Voice Max, billed monthly | Aqua Voice | Max | Per month, billed monthly | Not stated | 2026-10 | 30 | Voice, 2026 | |
| Otter.ai Business, billed monthly | Otter.ai | Business | Per month, billed monthly | Mac, Windows, iOS, Android | Not stated | 2026-10 | 30 | Otter.ai, 2026 |
| Willow Business, billed monthly | Willow Voice | Business | Per month, billed monthly | Mac, iOS | Not stated | 2026-10 | 35 | Willow Voice (vendor website), 2026 |
| Superwhisper Pro, annual | Superwhisper | Pro, annual | Per month, billed yearly | 2026-10 | 7.08 | Superwhisper, 2026 | ||
| Aqua Voice Pro, billed yearly | Aqua Voice | Pro | Per month, billed yearly | Not stated | 2026-10 | 8 | Voice, 2026 | |
| Braina Pro, 1 year | Braina | Pro, 1 year, 1 PC | Per month, billed yearly | Windows | 2026-10 | 8.25 | Brainasoft, 2026 | |
| Otter.ai Pro, billed yearly | Otter.ai | Pro | Per month, billed yearly | Mac, Windows, iOS, Android | Not stated | 2026-10 | 8.33 | Otter.ai, 2026 |
| Spokenly Pro, billed yearly | Spokenly | Pro | Per month, billed yearly | macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS | Both | 2026-10 | 8.33 | Spokenly (vendor website), 2026 |
| Monologue Pro, yearly | Monologue | Pro, yearly | Per month, billed yearly | Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch | 2026-10 | 12 | Monologue (monologue.to), 2026 | |
| Willow Pro, billed yearly | Willow Voice | Pro | Per month, billed yearly | Mac, iOS | Not stated | 2026-10 | 12 | Willow Voice (vendor website), 2026 |
| Wispr Flow Pro, billed yearly | Wispr Flow | Pro | Per month, billed yearly | 2026-10 | 12 | Flow, 2026 | ||
| Aqua Voice Business seat, yearly | Aqua Voice | Business, per seat | Per month, billed yearly | Not stated | 2026-10 | 19 | Voice, 2026 | |
| Otter.ai Business, billed yearly | Otter.ai | Business | Per month, billed yearly | Mac, Windows, iOS, Android | Not stated | 2026-10 | 19.99 | Otter.ai, 2026 |
| Aqua Voice Max, billed yearly | Aqua Voice | Max | Per month, billed yearly | Not stated | 2026-10 | 24 | Voice, 2026 | |
| Willow Business, billed yearly | Willow Voice | Business | Per month, billed yearly | Mac, iOS | Not stated | 2026-10 | 28 | Willow Voice (vendor website), 2026 |
| VoiceInk Solo, one Mac | VoiceInk | Solo, one Mac | One-time purchase | Mac | On device | 2026-10 | 25 | VoiceInk (vendor website), 2026 |
| Spokenly Local+, one-time | Spokenly | Local+ | One-time purchase | macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS | Both | 2026-10 | 29 | Spokenly (vendor website), 2026 |
| VoiceInk Personal, two Macs | VoiceInk | Personal, two Macs | One-time purchase | Mac | On device | 2026-10 | 39 | VoiceInk (vendor website), 2026 |
| VoiceInk Extended, three Macs | VoiceInk | Extended, three Macs | One-time purchase | Mac | On device | 2026-10 | 49 | VoiceInk (vendor website), 2026 |
| Superwhisper Pro, lifetime | Superwhisper | Pro, lifetime | One-time purchase | 2026-10 | 249.99 | Superwhisper, 2026 | ||
| Aqua Voice Free | Aqua Voice | Free | Free | Not stated | 2026-10 | 0 | Voice, 2026 | |
| Letterly Free | Letterly | Free | Free | 2026-10 | 0 | Letterly (help.letterly.app), 2026 | ||
| MacWhisper Free | MacWhisper | Free | Free | 2026-10 | 0 | MacWhisper, 2026 | ||
| Monologue free trial | Monologue | Free trial | Free | Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch | 2026-10 | 0 | Monologue (monologue.to), 2026 | |
| Speechnotes Dictation Free | Speechnotes | Dictation - Free | Free | Web, Chrome | Not stated | 2026-10 | 0 | Speechnotes, 2026 |
| Spokenly Free | Spokenly | Free | Free | macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS | Both | 2026-10 | 0 | Spokenly (vendor website), 2026 |
| Superwhisper Free | Superwhisper | Free | Free | On device | 2026-10 | 0 | Superwhisper, 2026 | |
| Willow Basic (free) | Willow Voice | Basic | Free | Mac, iOS | Not stated | 2026-10 | 0 | Willow Voice (vendor website), 2026 |
| Wispr Flow Free | Wispr Flow | Free | Free | Mac, Windows, iOS, Android | 2026-10 | 0 | Flow, 2026 |
37 rows. Open a row for the exact words of its source.
Calculated from the rows
Every statistic is calculated by code from the rows above. Open one to see the exact values it summarises.
- 16.99 US dollarsIn the dictation and voice typing app prices dataset, the 11 published figures for “Per month, billed monthly” have a median of 16.99 US dollars, ranging from 8.49 to 35.Calculated from other facts
- 12 US dollarsIn the dictation and voice typing app prices dataset, the 12 published figures for “Per month, billed yearly” have a median of 12 US dollars, ranging from 7.08 to 28.Calculated from other facts
- 39 US dollarsIn the dictation and voice typing app prices dataset, the 5 published figures for “One-time purchase” have a median of 39 US dollars, ranging from 25 to 249.99.Calculated from other facts
- 0 US dollarsIn the dictation and voice typing app prices dataset, the 9 published figures for “Free” have a median of 0 US dollars, ranging from 0 to 0.Calculated from other facts
- 37 data pointsThe dictation and voice typing app prices dataset holds 37 data points, each a published figure traced to its source.Calculated from other facts
- 13 sourcesThe dictation and voice typing app prices dataset draws on 13 distinct sources.Calculated from other facts
How this dataset is built
- What counts as a row
- Published prices of dictation and voice typing apps for consumers and professionals, from the maker's own price page, in US dollars, with the date read. Built-in dictation is included at zero where its maker's own page says it is free.
- What does not
- Our own app, so the comparison stays independent (its price is on our pricing page); resellers and coupon prices.
- How rows are found and checked
- Rows come from the facts already cited across the library and from each maker's current price page, read on the date shown. The pipeline re-reads every price page and flags a change.
- What the data cannot tell you
- Plans differ in limits (minutes, words, devices), and many apps change prices or run discounts. Compare within one billing type.
The search record
18
official pages and works read by a researcher
12
kept, with their figures checked
Every work and page screened (18: 12 kept)
Not keptDragon Professional (Nuance)
Nuance's own Dragon Professional pages (US and UK product pages, US store) show no price and offer a Contact us link; the only prices found are reseller listings and a 2023 TechRadar review, which are not the maker's page.
Not keptDragon Anywhere
Nuance's Dragon Anywhere Mobile page says to purchase a subscription but gives no price, and the Dragon Professional Anywhere page shows none; the only prices found are reseller and procurement listings.
Kept, 3 figuresWispr Flow
Wispr Flow's pricing page, read 2026-10-19, lists Free at $0 per month, and Pro at $15 per user per month under the Monthly setting or $12 under Annual; Growth and Enterprise are not recorded because the page text does not clearly pair their monthly prices.
Kept, 4 figuresSuperwhisper
Official billing page lists Pro at $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year ($7.08 a month) and $249.99 once, and says the Free plan is free with local Whisper models.
Kept, 2 figuresMacWhisper
Pricing section of macwhisper.com lists the Free plan at €0 per month (zero in any currency). The Pro license is priced only in euros (€64, paid once), so it is not a US dollar row and was not converted.
Kept, 7 figuresAqua Voice
Official pricing page lists Free at zero, Pro at $10 a month or $8 billed yearly, Max at $30 or $24 a month, and Business at $24 or $19 per seat a month, all in US dollars.
Kept, 4 figuresVoiceInk
VoiceInk's own pricing page (tryvoiceink.com), read 2026-10-19, lists three one-time licenses: Solo at $25 for one Mac, Personal at $39 for two Macs and Extended at $49 for three Macs, with no subscription; a 50% Off button in the navigation shows no discounted price, so the printed card prices are used.
Kept, 5 figuresWillow Voice
Willow's own pricing page (willowvoice.com/pricing), read 2026-10-19, lists Basic at $0, Pro at $15 a user a month billed monthly or $12 billed yearly, and Business at $35 or $28 a month; the Scribe-limit fact on the same page is not a price, so it is not a row.
Kept, 3 figuresSpokenly
Spokenly's own pricing page (spokenly.app/pricing), read 2026-10-19, lists Free at $0, Local+ at $29 once and Pro at $8.33 a month billed $99.99 a year; the Pro monthly price of $9.99 appears only in the page's structured data, which the quote check cannot read, so it is left out.
Kept, 3 figuresMonologue
Maker's price page states Monologue Pro at $15 a month billed monthly and $144 a year billed annually ($12 a month), plus a free trial at $0; the bundle with Every has no price on the page
Kept, 2 figuresLetterly
Help center names a Free plan and a Pro plan with no dollar prices; the App Store listing gives Pro one-month at $19.99 but lists several 1-year and lifetime prices with no way to tell which is current, so only the monthly price is recorded
Kept, 1 figureBraina Pro
Brainasoft's download page states Braina Pro at $99 for one year on one Windows PC; Pro Plus ($199 for 2 years, a limited-time offer) and Pro Ultra ($299 for 3 years) are multi-year licenses that fit no billing value, and Lite is free with no dictation feature, so none is recorded
Not keptTalon Voice
No price figure on the maker's own pages: talonvoice.com home, docs, changelog and EULA state none. The EULA grants a royalty-free license, which is not a stated price. The Patreon page shows only a EUR starting price (4.50 per month), not US dollars, and its tiers did not load.
Not keptApple Dictation (built in)
Apple's Mac Dictation user guide (support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/use-dictation-mh40584/mac, read 2026-10-19) states no price or cost; the only claims that it is free come from third-party sites, which are not the maker's page.
Not keptWindows voice typing (built in)
Microsoft's Use voice typing support article (read 2026-10-19) states no price or cost; the claim that it is free comes only from third-party sites, which are not the maker's page.
Not keptGoogle Docs voice typing (built in)
No official price figure: Google's Docs voice typing help page and its Google Workspace Docs product page state no price, so the built-in free status cannot be quoted.
Kept, 5 figuresOtter.ai
Otter's own pricing page gives per-user prices for Basic (free), Pro and Business, monthly and annual; the promotional prices marked for India-issued cards are not used.
Kept, 3 figuresSpeechnotes
Speechnotes' home page pricing section gives a free Dictation plan as a row; its $1.90 per month Premium plan is kept as a fact only, since the page gives no billing period, and its per-minute transcription price is outside the billing classes.
The whole method, from search to calculation, is on the research data page.
Cite and reuse
You may copy, share and adapt this dataset for any purpose, including commercially, if you credit it with a link. Quoted passages remain their authors' words: cite the original source for those.
Yap (2026). Dictation and voice typing app prices [Data set]. https://yapapp.cc/data/dictation-app-prices
License: CC BY 4.0.
Pages built on this data
- Dictation Software: How to Choose the Right App
- Best Dictation Software and Apps, Compared by Need
- Best Dictation Software for Windows: Free and Paid
- AI Dictation Apps Compared: How the Major Apps Differ
- AI Dictation Cost: Cloud vs On-Device Economics
- Is there a voice keyboard for Windows PCs?
- What is the best alternative to Windows dictation?
- How much does dictation software cost?
- Is Superwhisper better than Apple Dictation?
- What is the difference between Wispr Flow and Superwhisper?
- Why do AI dictation apps charge a monthly subscription?
- Dragon NaturallySpeaking Alternatives, Free and Paid
- Perpetual license
- Best Dictation Apps for Mac: Built-In vs Third-Party
- Is Mac dictation free?
- Is there a free dictation app for Mac?
- Is VoiceInk free and open source?
- What are the best open-source dictation apps for Mac?
- Free Dictation Software: The Best Free Options
More datasets
- On-Device Speech Recognition Benchmark on a Mac26 data points
- Typing Speed Statistics: Average WPM by Group14 data points
- Speech vs Typing Speed: Text Entry Rates Compared57 data points
- Speaking Rate Statistics: Words per Minute7 data points
- Speech Recognition Accuracy: Word Error Rates597 data points
- Speech Recognition Speed: Real-Time Factor Data24 data points
- How Many Languages Speech Recognition Supports45 data points
- Speech-to-Text API Pricing: Cost per Hour of Audio34 data points
- How Long Voice Assistants Keep Your Recordings38 data points
- Repetitive Strain Injury Statistics: How Common Is RSI18 data points
- Disability Statistics: Conditions That Make Typing Hard22 data points
- Voice Assistant and Voice Search Usage Statistics2 data points
Read the overview: Dictation Software: How to Choose the Right App