Dictation software
AI Dictation Apps Compared: How the Major Apps Differ
AI dictation apps add a language model after speech recognition to remove filler words, fix punctuation and sometimes rewrite the sentence. They differ most on where your audio is processed, which platforms they run on, how they charge and how much they change your words, so compare them on those four points.
Updated October 16, 202611 min read33 cited facts, each traced to its source
15US dollars per user per month
Wispr Flow lists its Pro plan for individuals and teams at $15 per user per month.
Wispr Flow, Wispr Flow (vendor website), 2026
249.99US dollars, one time
Superwhisper's Pro plan is listed at $249.99 as a one-time lifetime purchase.
Superwhisper, Superwhisper documentation, 2026
25US dollars, paid once, one Mac
VoiceInk's Solo license costs $25 once, for one Mac, with lifetime access and no monthly bill.
VoiceInk (vendor website), 2026
AI dictation apps add a language model to speech recognition. The recognizer turns your voice into a raw transcript, and the model then edits it: it removes filler words, adds punctuation and sometimes rewrites the sentence to suit the app you are in. The apps differ on four points: where the audio is processed, which platforms they run on, how they charge, and how much they change your words. This guide compares the major apps on those four points, using figures from each vendor's own pages and from the studies and manuals we cite, all read on 2026-10-16. It belongs to our guides on dictation software, and it does not rank one app first.
AI dictation apps run a language model after speech recognition
An AI dictation app has two steps. The first is a speech recognizer, which turns audio into words. The second is a language model, which edits those words. Plain dictation stops after the first step, so its output may need punctuation and cleanup by hand. AI dictation adds the second step automatically.
The second step is not unique to new startups. Microsoft says its Fluid dictation in Windows voice typing automatically corrects grammar, punctuation and filler words as you speak 1. The page describes it as a Copilot+ PC feature in English locales 2, so it does not reach every Windows computer.
The second step is also where your words can change. A language model does not only choose among the recognizer's candidates. In the HyPoradise benchmark, the authors found that a language model can correct words that were missing from the recognizer's candidate list 3. That is what makes AI cleanup useful, and it is why the question is not only whether the output is accurate but how much the model edits it.
The cleanup step has real work to do. In a controlled study on an iPhone, speech entry was much faster than typing: English reached 153 words per minute by speech against 52 on the built-in keyboard 4 5. The same study found that speech left slightly more uncorrected errors in the final text, 1.30% against 0.79% on the keyboard 6. Speed is the main reason to dictate, and the final text is worth reading for the errors that remain.
If you want the plain-language version first, read what dictation software is and how AI dictation works. A common first question is whether there is a dictation app without AI.
The major apps differ in processing, platforms, pricing and how much they rewrite
The table lists only figures that a vendor states on a page we read. Where a vendor does not state a figure, the cell says so rather than guessing.
| App | Where audio is processed | Platforms | Price (list, dated) | Rewriting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wispr Flow | Cloud. Audio is deleted after transcription unless cloud storage is on 7 | Mac, Windows, iOS and Android 8 | Free; Pro at $15 per user per month 9 | Not measured in this guide |
| Superwhisper | Free plan uses local Whisper models with no AI processing 10; Pro adds cloud models and AI processing 11 | One Pro license covers unlimited Macs and Windows PCs, plus an iPhone and an Android phone 12 | Monthly $8.49 13; lifetime $249.99 once 14 | AI processing on Pro only |
| Aqua Voice | Not stated on the privacy policy. The policy says transcripts may be stored unless Privacy Mode is on 15 | Not stated on the pages we read | Free with 1,000 words 16; Pro $10 a month, or $8 billed annually 17 18 | Not measured in this guide |
| Willow Voice | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pages we read | Free plan with 20 Scribe uses per week 19; the paid price is shown with two figures, so this guide does not state one | Not measured in this guide |
| VoiceInk | Local AI models on the device, according to the vendor 20 | Mac 21 | One-time Solo license at $25 for one Mac 22 | Not measured in this guide |
| Built-in dictation | Windows voice typing needs an internet connection 23; iPhone dictation runs on the device in many languages 24 | Windows, Mac 25 and iPhone | Not priced in this guide | Windows Fluid dictation corrects grammar and filler words 1 |
This guide does not price or test MacWhisper, Otter or other transcription and meeting tools. I did not open their vendor pages for this review, so the table leaves them out rather than quote a figure from a comparison site.
Two of the four axes are easy to compare, and two are not. Where vendors state them, platforms and prices are on their own pages. Processing location and rewriting depth are harder: vendors describe the privacy practice in a policy, not the exact path your audio takes. Is voice to text safe explains how to test the path yourself.
Rewriting depth is the axis that vendors describe least
Vendors describe what their modes do, not how far they change a sentence. Superwhisper's Free plan allows up to two modes 26, and it runs them without AI processing 10. Its Pro plan adds AI processing, along with cloud models and file transcription 11. A mode that rewrites a draft for an email reads differently from one that only fixes punctuation, so check which mode you are using before you judge the output.
The research shows why the difference matters. A system that only chooses among the recognizer's candidates can change a sentence no more than the candidates allow. A generative model can produce words that were not in the candidate list at all 3. That capability is what makes a cleanup useful, and it is also why a clean-looking sentence can say something you did not say. The HyPoradise benchmark studies research systems, not the commercial apps in this guide, so it cannot tell you how often any given app does this.
Two practical rules follow. First, check the names, figures and quotations in every draft, since those are where a changed word does the most damage. Second, read the final text once against what you said. A model's edit is most dangerous where it reads most smoothly, because a fluent sentence is easy to accept. A vendor that says its app "fixes" your sentences has made a claim about fluency, not about meaning. The test in the last section is the only reliable way to see how much an app changes your words.
Cloud apps send your audio to servers, while local apps can keep it on your computer
Processing location is the axis with the biggest consequence for privacy, and the vendors' own statements are the clearest guide. The vendors describe the same choice in three different ways.
Wispr Flow is a cloud app. Its privacy page says that audio is deleted as soon as it is transcribed, unless you have turned on its Dictation cloud storage setting 7. The same page has a setting called Improve the model for everyone, which lets the company use your audio, transcripts and edits to improve its models. The company says that turning it off means nothing you say is used to train its models 27.
Superwhisper's free plan takes the opposite route. Its documentation says that on the Free plan, dictation uses local Whisper models without AI processing, and that nothing you dictate leaves the device 10. Whisper is a speech model that OpenAI trained on 680,000 hours of multilingual and multitask audio 28. The speed of the model on your hardware is a separate question.
Aqua Voice keeps the choice in a setting. Its privacy policy says that for users with Privacy Mode disabled, it may store transcript data on its servers to improve the product 15. Turning Privacy Mode on is therefore the setting to check before you dictate anything confidential.
VoiceInk describes itself as local. Its site says it uses local AI models to transcribe what you say 20. That is a vendor statement, and we did not test the network traffic the app sends.
Apple gives a way to check its own dictation. Apple says your device shows in Keyboard settings whether dictated audio and transcripts are processed on the device or sent to Apple servers 29. A vendor's privacy policy describes intent. The indicator, or a short test with the network turned off, shows what the device actually does.
Yap, which we make, is an on-device dictation app for Mac and Windows. Its prices are on the pricing page, not in this guide. For the offline case on a Mac, see offline dictation on Mac.
If the audio path matters to you, sort the apps by it before you look at anything else. An app that keeps recognition on the device, and stores nothing unless you choose to, meets a different standard from one that uploads audio for every dictation. Apps that describe their storage as a setting, such as Wispr Flow's cloud storage option or Aqua Voice's Privacy Mode, are not automatically unsafe, but the setting is the thing to check and to record. For patient, client or other regulated content, read the policy for that app with your own compliance rules in front of you. This guide does not give legal or medical advice on that point. Is voice to text safe? is a starting point, and offline dictation on Mac covers the on-device option in more depth.
Monthly and yearly plans are common, with a few one-time licenses and free tiers
Three of the paid apps in this guide charge monthly or yearly, while VoiceInk sells a one-time license 22. Superwhisper's list prices show the pattern. Its monthly plan is $8.49 13, and its annual plan is $84.99 per year 30, which works out to $7.08 a month 31. Its lifetime license is $249.99 once 14, which costs about the same as 29 months of the monthly plan 32.
Wispr Flow Pro lists at $15 per user per month 9, so one seat costs $180 over a year at list price 33. Pricing is per user, so a team multiplies that figure. Aqua Voice Pro costs $10 a month when billed monthly, and $8 a month when billed annually 17 18.
The chart compares only the monthly list price, which is the one figure all three vendors state. Its values are the cited figures in the paragraph above. The annual and lifetime options change the comparison a great deal, so read the price table before you choose.
Free tiers exist as well, but they are limited in different ways. Aqua Voice's Free plan includes 1,000 words 16. Willow Voice's free plan includes 20 Scribe uses per week 19, and Superwhisper's free plan includes unlimited dictation with local models, but no AI processing 10. Read each free tier as a trial or a limited tool, not as an equal product. The free tier and perpetual license terms explain the billing models in detail. VoiceInk sells a one-time Solo license for one Mac at $25 22.
For a fair price comparison, start with free dictation software. You may not need any of the paid apps.
A monthly plan and a lifetime license answer different questions. A monthly plan costs least if you will dictate for a few months and then stop. A lifetime license costs least if you will keep the app for years, and the Superwhisper figures show where the two meet: the lifetime price equals about 29 months of its monthly plan 32. Subscriptions also keep changing features and models, so a lifetime license is a bet that the current version will still meet your needs. Wispr Flow's Pro plan is priced per user for individuals and teams, so a team that adds seats multiplies the per-seat price, as the figure above shows 9.
Meeting transcribers like Otter solve a different problem than dictation apps
Dictation puts your words where the cursor is, as you speak. A meeting transcriber records a conversation with several speakers and gives you a transcript afterward. The two can overlap, but they answer different questions. If you want to write an email or a document by voice, you need dictation. If you want a record of what people said in a meeting, you need a transcriber. What dictation software is sets out the categories, and file transcription in your browser covers recordings you already have.
Choose by dictating the same paragraph into two apps
Vendor pages tell you the price and the platform, but not how your own writing will come out. A short test on your own text settles the rewriting question faster than any comparison table.
- Choose a paragraph of about 150 words that you would really write, with the names and terms you use every day.
- Dictate it with the built-in dictation on your computer, and save the draft.
- Dictate the same paragraph into the AI app you are considering, with the same microphone and in the same room.
- Compare the two drafts. Mark the filler words that were removed, the punctuation that was added, and every word that changed meaning.
- Check where the audio goes, using the app's privacy page or, for Apple, the Keyboard indicator.
- Multiply the monthly price by 12 and compare the annual cost with a one-time license or a free tier.
If the AI draft changed a word that you meant, you have the answer for that app. If it removed fillers and fixed punctuation without changing meaning, the cleanup is working as intended.
Keep the two drafts side by side and record four things for each app: the filler words removed, the punctuation added or changed, every word whose meaning changed, and the time you spent fixing the result. The last number matters most. A faster draft that needs longer corrections is not faster in the end. The speed figures above describe one side of that trade: speech is quicker to produce, and the study found more uncorrected errors left in the final text 6. That study did not measure the time spent editing a dictated draft afterwards 4. Run the test with the same microphone and the same room each time, so the comparison measures the app and not the room.
For the questions people ask most often, see whether Wispr Flow is worth it, the difference between Wispr Flow and Superwhisper, whether Superwhisper beats Apple Dictation, and the best voice to text app for notes. For the other options in our dictation software guides, read the best dictation software and the Dragon alternatives.
Evidence
Every number on this page, with where it comes from. Open a fact to see the exact words in its source.
- 1.
- 2.
- 3.
- 4.
- 5.
- 6.Speech produced fewer errors during entry than the phone keyboard (5.30% vs 11.22% corrected error rate) but left slightly more errors in the final text (1.30% vs 0.79% uncorrected error rate).
Sherry Ruan et al., Proceedings of the ACM on Interactive, Mobile, Wearable and Ubiquitous Technologies (IMWUT), 2018 · Original
- 7.
- 8.
- 9.
- 10.
- 11.
- 12.
- 13.
- 14.
- 15.
- 16.
- 17.
- 18.
- 19.
- 20.
- 21.
- 22.
- 23.
- 24.
- 25.
- 26.
- 27.
- 28.
- 29.
- 30.
- 31.Spread over twelve months, Superwhisper's annual plan works out to about $7.08 per month.
Calculated from 1 other fact
- 32.At the monthly price, Superwhisper's lifetime license costs the same as about 29 months of the monthly Pro plan.
Calculated from 2 other facts
- 33.At the monthly list price, one Wispr Flow Pro seat costs $180 over a year.
Calculated from 1 other fact
Questions about this
- Is Superwhisper better than Apple Dictation?Apple Dictation is the better starting point if you want built-in dictation on a Mac or iPhone and do not need to choose models or modes. Superwhisper is better if you want to pick the speech model, use custom vocabulary or modes, or dictate on Windows or Android. A 2025 test found Whisper more accurate than Apple's engine, but it was one recording, so test both on your own text.
- Is there a dictation app without AI?Yes. Superwhisper's Voice to Text mode outputs raw transcribed text with no language model involved, and its Free plan uses local Whisper models with no AI processing. The harder point is that Whisper, the speech recognizer in those local models, is itself a neural network, so 'without AI' really means without a step that rewrites your words after recognition.
- Is Wispr Flow worth it?Wispr Flow is worth paying for if you dictate a lot, in many apps and on more than one device, and you accept that its cleanup runs in the cloud. For a few hundred words a week, or for work where your audio must stay on your computer, the free options and the built-in tools are the better fit, and a short test on your own writing settles it.
- What is the best voice to text app for journaling?There is no single best app, but for most iPhone users Apple's Journal app is the best starting point, because it records your voice, transcribes it and locks your entries. On a Mac or Windows PC, pick a dictation tool that keeps your speech on the device and skip AI rewriting for journal entries, since a rewrite can change what you meant.
- What is the best voice to text app for notes?For most notes, the best voice to text app is the dictation already on your phone or computer, because it costs nothing and works where you can type. Pay for an AI app such as Wispr Flow or Superwhisper only if you want automatic cleanup and the free tier is not enough. For a private journal, choose an app that keeps audio on the device, and check its storage setting before you dictate anything personal.
- What is the difference between Wispr Flow and Superwhisper?Wispr Flow is a cloud service that automatically removes filler words and formats your text, sold as a per-user monthly subscription. Superwhisper lets you choose per mode: its free plan uses local Whisper models with no AI processing, its Voice to Text mode outputs raw text, and its Pro plan adds cloud models.
More in Dictation software
- Dictation Software: How to Choose the Right AppThe overview of this topic
- What Is Dictation Software? Types and How It Works
- Best Dictation Software and Apps, Compared by Need
- Free Dictation Software: The Best Free Options
- Dragon NaturallySpeaking: What It Is and Where It Stands
- Dragon NaturallySpeaking Versions, Editions and Price
- Dragon NaturallySpeaking Alternatives, Free and Paid
- How to Use Dragon NaturallySpeaking: Setup to Commands
- Open-Source Dictation Software: Free Apps on GitHub
- Professional Dictation Software for Specialist Fields
Referenced by
- Dictation Software: How to Choose the Right AppTopic
- AI Dictation: How AI Voice Typing WorksGuide
- What Is Dictation Software? Types and How It WorksGuide
- Best Dictation Software and Apps, Compared by NeedGuide
- AI Cleanup for Dictation: Fillers, Punctuation, RewritesGuide
- Free Dictation Software: The Best Free OptionsGuide
- Dragon NaturallySpeaking: What It Is and Where It StandsGuide
- Dragon NaturallySpeaking Alternatives, Free and PaidGuide
- Do Dictation Apps Train AI on Your Voice?Guide
- Open-Source Dictation Software: Free Apps on GitHubGuide
- AI Dictation Cost: Cloud vs On-Device EconomicsGuide
- Does Dragon NaturallySpeaking use AI?Question
- How do you clean up dictated text with ChatGPT?Question
- Is AI dictation better than Dragon NaturallySpeaking?Question
- Is AI dictation more accurate than built-in dictation?Question
- Is Superwhisper better than Apple Dictation?Question
- Is there a dictation app without AI?Question
- Is Wispr Flow worth it?Question
- What is the best voice to text app for journaling?Question
- What is the best voice to text app for notes?Question
- What is the difference between Wispr Flow and Superwhisper?Question
- Which AI dictation apps work on Windows?Question
- AI dictationGlossary
- Bring your own key (BYOK)Glossary